What are Power Standards?

What are Power Standards?

Power Standards are the learning goals that matter the most and are most critical for students to achieve prior to leaving their current grade/class. They represent those standards teachers will spend the most time emphasizing. Power Standards, once mastered, give a student the ability to use reasoning and thinking skills to learn and understand other curricular objectives. Power Standards do not represent the total curriculum, but are the essential learning outcomes for all students. Students will be exposed to all of the standards for their grade level or course but to a lesser degree.

Power Standards By Grade Level:


1st Grade

2nd Grade

3rd Grade

4th Grade

5th Grade

6th Grade

7th Grade

8th Grade