Return to Headlines

Hartley Wins Kohl Fellowship

Rachel Hartley Honored with Kohl Fellowship

For the third consecutive year, a Wheatland teacher has been honored with the most prestigious teaching award in the state. The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellowship announced the 2019 recipients Tuesday, March 5th. Awards in the amount of $6,000 will be made to 100 Wisconsin teachers and their schools.

The Wheatland J1 School District is proud to announce that Rachel Hartley, Middle School Language Arts Teacher, has been named a winner of the 2019 Kohl Teacher Fellowship. Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom. As the 7/8 Language Arts teacher at Wheatland, Rachel plays a critical role in getting students ready for high school and beyond. Mrs. Hartley is an innovator and truly uses technology as an extension of her instruction. Marty McGinley, Wheatland District Administrator said, “Mrs. Hartley finds numerous ways to address realistic and relevant problems with multiple networking mediums. Rachel is able to, speak the language of her students in text or technology because she is a multi-media consumer herself. Students see her as a genuine source for connecting their learning to their world.”

Fellowship recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations, and the program’s co-sponsors: the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), and the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators. The Kohl Foundation Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded over 11 million dollars to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

“We are so excited Rachel has been honored with the most prestigious award a Wisconsin teacher can receive,” said Wheatland J1 School District Principal Drew Halbesma. “The Kohl Fellowship recognizes only the best, and Rachel is very deserving. She lives teaching in all she does and creates connections to literacy across multiple content areas, making learning relevant for her students.”

Mrs. Hartley will receive her award at a ceremony in Sun Prairie, March 24th. She is the third consecutive Wheatland teacher to be honored with the Kohl Teacher Fellowship. Previous winners are Kandi Horton and Megan Zirbel.